EuroSys Roger Needham PhD Award

Prize donated by Microsoft Research Cambridge

The EuroSys Roger Needham PhD award is an anual prize awarded to a PhD student from a European University whose thesis is regarded to be an exceptional, innovative contribution to knowledge in the systems area. “Systems” is interpreted broadly, and includes operating systems, distributed systems, real-time systems, transactional and database systems, language runtimes, embedded systems, computer networks, systems aspects of programming, systems security, etc. The winner will receive 2000 €, which will be awarded at the EuroSys conference. The prize is donated by Microsoft Research Cambridge.

Criteria for selection are the overall contribution to systems research in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, scientific rigor, quality of the presentation, and potential for practical application.

Nominations for the 2019 award — for students who have defended their PhD thesis after September 1, 2017 — are open. The deadline for nominations is December 15, 2018. By this date the student must have defended the dissertation that will be submitted.

Nominations can only be made by a student’s PhD supervisor. A nomination must include:

  • The title and abstract of the dissertation;
  • a copy of the dissertation itself (PDF);
  • a (1 page) recommendation letter from the submitter (PDF);
  • the name of the institution and the date of the defence.

It may optionally include a PDF file containing supporting publications (mandatory if the dissertation is not written in English).

Nominations can be mailed to the Award Committee Chair, Roger Wattenhofer ( Make sure the words Needham Award are in the subject line.

2019 EuroSys Roger Needham Award Review Committee :
  • Roger Wattenhofer, ETH Zurich (chair)
  • Andrea Acquaviva, Politecnico di Torino
  • Lorenzo Alvisi, Cornell University
  • Andrea Arpaci-Dusseau, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Philippe Bonnet, IT University of Copenhagen
  • Cristiano Giuffrida, VU Amsterdam
  • Tim Harris, Amazon
  • Baris Kasikci, University of Michigan
  • Marco Serafini, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Vyas Sekar, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Devesh Tiwari, Northeastern University

    Past recipients:

    2019: Manolis Karpathiotakis, for his thesis Just-in-time Analytics Over Heterogeneous Data and Hardware.

             (Honourable Mention) Zsolt Istvan, for his thesis Building Distributed Storage with Specialized Hardware.

    2018: Dennis Andriessefor his thesis Analyzing and Securing Binaries Through Static Disassembly.

            (Honourable Mention) Leonidas Kosmidis, for his thesis Enabling Caches in Probabilistic Timing Analysis.

    2017: Vasileios Trigonakisfor his thesis Towards Scalable Synchronization on Multi-Cores.

    2015: Cristiano Giuffrida, for his thesis Safe and Automatic Live Update.

    2014: Torvald Riegel, for his thesis Software Transactional Memory Building Blocks.

    2013: Asia Slowinska, for her thesis Using Information Flow Tracking to Protect Legacy Binaries.

    2012: Derek Murray, for his thesis A Distributed Execution Engine Supporting Data-Dependent Control Flow.

    2011: Jorrit Herder, for his thesis Building a Dependable Operating System: Fault Tolerance in MINIX 3.

    2010: Willem de Bruijn, for his thesis Adaptive Operating System Design for High Throughput I/O.

    2009: Jacob Gorm Hansen, for his thesis Virtual Machine Mobility with Self-Migration.

    2008: Adam Dunkels, for his thesis Programming Memory-Constrained Networked Embedded Systems.

    2007: Nick Cook, for his thesis Middleware Support for Non-repudiable Business-to-Business Interactions.

    2006: Oliver Heckmann, for his thesis A System-oriented Approach to Efficiency and Quality of Service for Internet Service Providers .