EuroSys Lifetime Achievement Award

The EuroSys Lifetime Achievement Award is given every other year (starting in 2015) to a researcher who has made outstanding technical contributions to the field and has shaped computer systems in Europe.

EuroSys 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

Past Recipients


The candidate must have spent a significant fraction of his or her career in Europe, and will typically be associated with a European institution at the time of nomination. There is no restriction on the nationality of the candidate. Members of the selection committee and EuroSys officers are not eligible.


The selection committee will choose the recipient based on contributions in the research areas covered by EuroSys. Contributions may be evidenced by, without limitation, publications in selective venues, highly-cited works, production of widely used software, and other impact on the research community and industry. Participation in EuroSys and in the European research community will be an additional consideration.

Nomination Procedure

Candidates must be nominated for the Award. Self-nominations are not accepted.

Unsuccessful nominations may be resubmitted in subsequent years.

Nominations should contain:

Nominations for the award to be presented in 2023 should be sent to by April 21, 2023.

If you have questions about the award, the nominating procedure, or a potential candidate’s eligibility, please ask the award committee chair at any time.

The members of the 2023 Lifetime Achievement Award committee are: