EuroSys Roger Needham PhD Award

Prize donated by Microsoft Research

The EuroSys Roger Needham PhD award is an annual prize awarded to a PhD student from a European University whose thesis is regarded to be an exceptional, innovative contribution to knowledge in the systems area. “Systems” is interpreted broadly, and includes operating systems, distributed systems, real-time systems, transactional and database systems, language runtimes, embedded systems, computer networks, systems aspects of programming, systems security, etc. The winner will receive 2000 EUR, which will be awarded at the EuroSys conference.

Criteria for selection are the overall contribution to systems research in terms of scientific originality, scientific significance, scientific rigor, quality of the presentation, and potential for practical application.

EuroSys 2024 Roger Needham PhD Award Recipients

Past Recipients:

Nominations for the 2024 award — for students who have defended their PhD thesis after September 1, 2022 are now closed. The deadline for nominations was December 15, 2023. By this date the student must have defended the dissertation that will be submitted.

Nominations can only be made by a student’s PhD supervisor. A nomination must include:

It may optionally include a PDF file containing supporting publications (mandatory if the dissertation is not written in English)

Nominations should be mailed to

The current committee of the EuroSys Roger Needham PhD Award is comprised of: